Poniedziałek, 22 kwietnia, 2024   I   06:19:37 PM EST   I   Łukasza, Kai, Nastazji

Ambassador Krzysztof Szczerski Has Been Elected as the Chair of the UN Commission on Social Development

Bartosz Kempiński - Permanent Representation of the Republic of Poland to the United Nations New York     February 16, 2024

Ambassador Krzysztof Szczerski Has Been Elected as the Chair of the UN Commission on Social Development

Ambassador Krzysztof Szczerski has been elected chair of the UN Commission on Social Development. On February 14, he was chosen by acclamation as the Permanent Representative of Poland to the United Nations in New York. The Commission, a significant UN body with a rich tradition since the organization's inception, primarily advises governments worldwide on creating policies to support social development by ensuring proper economic, political, cultural, and legal conditions.

"Poland has exciting experiences and attaches significant importance to the topic of social development to offer partners," said Ambassador Szczerski, responding to questions after his presentation.

A leading theme of the Commission’s work during its 63rd session will be strengthening solidarity, aligning with Poland's priorities within the United Nations. "We are very pleased that solidarity is emerging as one of the Commission's leading themes. We in Poland share the view that this value deserves special recognition by the international community and should result in practical solutions to the benefit of societies," the Ambassador added, addressing the Commission members.

The Commission, comprising 46 UN member countries, meets annually. Its principal outputs include resolutions and decisions on the session's leading themes and the social dimension of the New Partnership for African Development.

The committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), of which Poland was elected as a member at the beginning of this year for the next three years. Ambassador Szczerski will take over the chairmanship from Ruchira Kamboj, the Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations.